top of page
Search

Introductions and Instructions!



Hello, and welcome to Blackwood Ball Pythons. My name is Amy and i'll be your point of contact for any questions or interactions with BWBP! This business is mine, small and home run but so important to me nonetheless.


The header at the top of the page is always there to give you navigation options on the site. Some areas of interest, or things I know i'm looking for when i'm researching a purchase or breeder, can be found as follows:

  • "See Our Snakes" is a page where I list most of my current collection. Information available for each snake includes a photo, morph, which specific genes they carry or are het (heterozygous) for, year they hatched and gender ratio. These aren't for sale, I just personally enjoy seeing the different morphs and snakes that made available hatchlings- it's part of how I've been learning, so I wanted that accessible to clients as well!

  • "Current Pairings" lists the breedings and snakes involved. This page also has photos and details what stage the breeding is at: pairing, incubating, or hatched and awaiting first shed/first few meals. Growth and development is photo logged and posted here as well- one of the most fascinating parts of breeding.

  • "The Shop" is where you should head if you're looking to see what ball pythons, rats or herp supplies I have available to purchase. This is my first season producing (or trying lol) so this is the area of the website where i'm anticipating adjustments, edits and structure changes to be ongoing for a fair bit.

The Available Snakes section is divided according to age/stage of the animal. Hatchlings available for purchase AND those available for deposit to hold will be listed under "Hatchlings", animals under adult breeding weights will be listed under "Sub-Adult" etc. Photos and details of morph, weight, hatch date and pairing parents will be available for each. I'm expecting my first clutch to be laid in August or September and my second shortly after if all goes well.


The Fancy Rats/ASFs section is sorted according to type of animal- Pet or Feeder. Feeders is divided into Standard Feeders and ASF Feeders. Both of these sections are further sorted according to live vs F/T and sizes. Pet section is sorted according to Ear Type (Dumbo or Top- Eared) and coat type (Rex, Hairless or Standard).


All of my feeders are raised in a pet setting with stimulation, toys, appropriate housing, gender ratios and females are not bred back to back heats. Pet rats are selected for coat type, color and disposition. These rats are also great for other feeder breeders looking for good healthy stock to bring into their programs to refresh the gene pool. Feeders will be available this month for fuzzies and smalls, mediums and larges the month after. From that point I should have a small steady supply of most sizes available.


ASF feeders are kept in the same conditions as my standard rat pets and feeders. These are a natural food item of ball pythons in the wild and are great for picky eaters. These are not a species of rat well suited to being companions but I will sell them as live feeders or select some pairs and sell them live for others looking to breed their own. Im anticipating ASF feeders available in 2 months, judging by my current breeding pairs ages.


All rats/feeders are currently ONLY available for pickup, which can be done by appointment. To make an appointment or inquire further about feeders e-mail blackwood.ballpythons@gmail.com


The "About BWBP" section is just a personal note from me giving a bit of background on how I wound up breeding ball pythons.


The "Blackwood Blog" is where you're at now! Here i'll be giving updates on what i'm reading up on, discussion or questions on morphs and equipment, what i'm working on with the collection and just keeping you all in the loop in general.


The YouTube channel and Facebook pages are on their way to being publishable- i'm just detail-oriented and making sure I do some research on making videos and appropriate editing before I jump in. Also I've never done it before and i'm procrastinating.


So that is that, some info, some timelines and an intro. I'm going to call this a done post and sign off,


Hope to have more for you all soon and thanks for stopping by!


Amy Belliveau

Owner/Operator at Blackwood Ball Pythons

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page